Sacred music

Motets (1533)

28 Psalms (1549)

Mass L’Aveuglé dieu (1554)

Chansons spirituelles (1555)

Lamentations (1556)

Proverbs (1558)

82 Psalms (1559)

The transcriptions offered here are new, also for the handful of sacred works that have been previously edited (by among others Honegger, Pidoux and LaBelle.)  The numbering system follows that initiated by Lesure and Merritt for the secular works: it is arranged chronologically from early to late. Inasmuch as the last entry in the secular catalogue was numbered LM254, the sacred catalogue begins with LMN 255 (the letter “N” serving as a reminder that responsibity for the sacred catalogue rests with the present author.)  Discussions of the sacred works are found in Clément Janequin: French Composer at the Dawn of Music Publishing in Chapter 5 (the motets of 1533), Chapter 7 (the psalm settings of 1549), Chapter 8 (the mass L’Aveuglé dieu) and Chapter 10 (the sacred works printed by Le Roy and Ballard.)

One thought on “Sacred music

Comments are closed.